Awards and Honors

medals copy

Here you will find a list of awards and honors that our faculty, researchers, postdoctoral fellows and students have received along with a short description of the award or honor.


Vassilis Angelopoulos – James B. Macelwane Medal (American Geophysical Union); Zeldovich Medal (Russian Academy of Science & Committee on Space Research/ICSU)

Mark Harrison – Arthur L. Day Medal (Geological Society of America)

David Jewitt – Shaw Prize in Astronomy (Shaw Prize Foundation), Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement (NASA), Kavli Prize in Astrophysics (Norwegian Academy of Sciences), Asteroid (6434) named Jewitt, named in honor of Professor Dr. David C. Jewitt

Margaret Kivelson – Gerard P. Kuiper Prize of the American Astronomical Society (Division for Planetary Sciences), Hannes Alfvén Medal (European Geosciences Medal), John Adam Fleming Medal (American Geophysical Union)

Jean-Luc Margot – Harold C. Urey Prize (American Astronomical Society)

Kevin McKeeganAsteroid (5663) named McKeegan, named in honor of Professor Dr. Kevin D. McKeegan (International Astronomical Union), AGU Fellow (American Geophysical Union),

Jonathan Mitchell – Ronald Greely Early Career Award in Planetary Science (American Geophysical Union)

David Paige – Exceptional Scientific Achievement Award (NASA)

Gilles Peltzer – Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement (NASA)

Bruce Runnegar – Lapworth Medal (Palaentological Association), Mawson Medal (Australian Academy of Science), Paleontological Society Medal (Paleontological Society)

Chris Russell -Robert J. Collier Trophy (National Aeronautic Association), John Adam Fleming Medal (American Geophysical Union), James B. Macelwane Medal (American Geophysical Union)

Hilke SchlichtingAsteroid (9522) named Schlichting, named in honor of Professor Dr. Hilke E. Schlichting (International Astronomical Union), Hubble Postdoctoral Fellow (STScI)

Bill Schopf – Paleontological Society Medal (Paleontological Society), Golden Plate Medal (American Academy of Achievement), Centennial Botanist Award (Botanical Society of America), Mary Clark Thompson Medal (National Academy of Sciences), Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal (National Academy of Sciences), Alan T. Waterman Award (National Science Foundation – National Science Board), Alexandre Ivanovich Oparin Medal (International Society for the Study of the Origin of Life)

Gerald Schubert – Harry H. Hess Medal (American Geophysical Union), James B. Macelwane Medal (American Geophysical Union)

John Wasson– Leonard Medal (Meteoritical Society), J. Lawrence Smith Medal (National Academy of Sciences)

An Yin – Donath Medal (Geological Society of America), American Geophysical Union Fellowship (American Geophysical Union)

Ed Young – Fellow of the Meteoritical Society (Meteoritical Society)

Researchers and Postdoctoral Scholars

Frank Kyte – Barringer Medal (The Meteoritical Society)

Graduate Students

Alexander Grannan – Chateaubriand Exchange Fellowship (IRPHE Lab, Aix-en-Marseilles)

Erin Leonard – NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship (NESSF) Program

Bryce Mitsunaga – National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Award

Sebastiano Padovan – Chateaubriand Exchange Fellowship (Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP))







Follow Iplex