Dawn Mission Wins National Air and Space Museum Trophy

On March 26, the Dawn Mission team was awarded the 2014 Trophy for Current Achievement, the Smithsonian’s highest honor bestowed on groups.  The Dawn probe is the first to explore asteroids within our solar system’s main belt up close.  UCLA Professor Christopher T. Russell, an iPLEX member, is the principal investigator for the Dawn mission and traveled to Washington D.C. to receive the award.

Read more about the award at the UCLA Newsroom.  Find out more about Dawn on their mission homepage.

Pictured here are the following members of the Dawn team (from left to right): Grant Faris, Carol Polanskey, Chris Russell, Steve Joy, Greg Whiffen, Marc Rayman, Robert Mase, Tim Weise, Brett Smith, Nick Mastrodemos, Paul Fieseler, Carol Raymond and Don Han. Image credit: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Follow Iplex